Best Raw Paleo Carrot Cake

IMG_9019

I have found the recipe in Luke and Scott’s ‘Clean Living Cookbook’. It was a real hit with the entire family and gone in one day:

Ingredients of the raw carrot base:

  • 8-10 pitted dates (I have changed it as I found 12 too sweet)
  • 1 cup raw walnuts
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg ( I had changed the last two ingredients for 2 tsp on 5-spice powder)
  • pinch of salt

I mixed all ingredients in a food processor/thermamix and pressed it into a lines form

Ingredients for the Cashew Cream Icing:

  • 1 cup raw cashews, soaked overnight (I had only soaked them for 1 hour)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (I used a bit less)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil

Again, I just mixed everything in a food processor and spread it over the base.

Then I put the cake into the freezer for a couple of hours – and thaw for a few minutes before serving. The recipe suggests to sprinkle each slice with toasted walnuts, but I think it can also be nice with berries.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

