The Attitude of Gratitude

The Attitude of Gratitude

These days, I truly believe that I’ve only got one job: to live at my highest possible vibrational frequency. In other words, my job is to be happy for no obvious reason. My happiness flows from a desire to be, what God created me to be: of service to others. “God, fill me first with love – and then show me how I can add value to anyone’s life I touch.” That is my prayer. Many mothers do the second part of the deal, the being a servant. The service extends to every single person before it reaches their own needs. At that time, the tank is empty, and you know it is when you hear yourself screaming at your kids, feeling resentment toward your husband for not helping, loving or supporting you enough. I believe that my own happiness is an inside job, and if I fail to do whatever it takes to fill my life with joy, nobody can be blamed for neglecting to make me happy.

Maybe you believe or have been told that you should be grateful only when you have a good reason to be. Maybe you even believe that you are being grateful when you say “thank you” for receiving a gift, a complement, or a treat. Every time that gratitude is a reaction or a response to another person or circumstance, it ties in with a condition, a consequence, or a coincidence. I am talking about creation without condition. Placing yourself beyond the reaction to life shows self- responsibility. Cultivating true gratitude is not an act of response, but an act of creation. Similar to our expectation of feeling happy when everything in our lives goes well, gratitude without a cause is like happiness for no reason: bliss.

Can your happiness or transformation start with the gratitude exercise every morning and having you wrap up the day in a state of awe by looking at the gifts that the day has brought? By writing it down, you will start to pay attention to new possibilities, which will ultimately change your perception and, therefore, your reality. More wonderful things will compete for your attitude of gratitude.

One useful or desirable outcome lies in a shift of consciousness, when your body is no longer a match for negative experiences or patterns of discomfort or illness.

”Beyond your ideas of right- and wrong-doing, there is a field. I meet you there!” – Rumi

Gratitude is a useful tool to toil the soil of being non-judgemental.

(from ’90 Shades of Gratitude’ by B. Hoi)

Leave a Reply

